Tile Coaster Experiment

I have seen them on Pinterest – and promptly ignored them. Who really needs more coasters? We have coasters from just about every continent – and they all sit nicely boxed up in a cabinet. Then my friend Michele made some and posted them right here and all of a sudden home-made coasters became interesting.

Interesting enough to look up the tutorial and start gathering supplies. Then I bullied my friend Lisa into doing this project with me. (She really didn’t need that much bullying since she had planned to do these for some time.) The instructions in the tutorial are very clear, so we advanced pretty smoothly. I would use cork instead of felt for the backing, but overall this experiment turned out well.

The greatest revelation was Mod Podge – nobody ever told me about that stuff!!! Seriously – good stuff! How come everybody knows about this except for me? What else is out there people? What ARE you hiding from me????

Lisa’s creations:

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. cheletopia
    Jan 31, 2012 @ 06:30:03

    YES! Mod Podge is the business. There are different kinds for different applications too – fabric, outdoor use, matte, gloss, finishing spray. Its awesome!

    I love both sets! You guys totally rocked them!!!

    Oh….I didn’t use felt or cork on the bottom (which I might use on my next set since I have a ton of adhesive cork at home oddly enough). I used little rubber feet instead (had them sitting around too).

    Reply

  2. pandorra7
    Feb 01, 2012 @ 14:16:52

    What can fabric mod podge do that fabric glue can’t?

    Reply

  3. Lisa
    Feb 16, 2012 @ 14:46:43

    I fI feel so honored to be part of your blog.

    Reply

  4. pandorra7
    Feb 17, 2012 @ 02:24:47

    Of course they are in the blog – they came out beautifully! Charlotte would like them too! LOL

    Reply

So what do you think? Leave a reply.

