The Denim Quilt Experiment

I seem to be suffering from Kindergarten-Syndrome: “I don’t care about this doll, buuuuuut if YOU have this doll then I want it more than anything else in the world!!!! A.N.Y.T.H.I.N.G.!”

I don’t play much with dolls anymore, but I do get my hands into all sorts of crafts nowadays and the syndrome is rearing it’s head. Case: The Denim Quilt.

Although I plan to reach project runway levels on the sewing-machine, quilting has never been that interesting. I want fashions – who needs grandma-quilts! Until my friend Kathya started one and showed me this tutorial.

Ooooooooohhhhhhhhhh!!

Nothing in the world was more important than making a denim quilt. N.O.T.H.I.N.G.!!! It get’s cold in the winter in Southern California – we need heavy denim blankets! Now.

It took me a couple of Saturdays to make it. First day to do all the cutting and attaching back and front side of the squares. Second day to lay it out and putting it together. Then a trip to the laundromat and voila – the denim quilt (cat not included):

It’s really cool.

A couple of notes:

  1.  In the video tutorial she uses some obnoxiously bright baby colors – this is probably so that the demo is clearer. At the very end she shows two finished examples. One is a denim version, which is opposite of mine – she has the denim as front, and colors as back. Nice either way.
  2.  I used various colors of denim for the front, and 5 colors of homespun in the back.
  3. Go to a laundromat for the first washing/drying. I removed lint by the bucket! (Shout-out to my laundry-buddy: “Zuuuup Lisa!”)
  4. Keep old jeans – use them for squares.
  5. Thank you to Michele, from whom I inherited a pile of denim when she was cleaning out her fabric stash. Now she wants it back. Too bad I say!
3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Michele
    Feb 02, 2012 @ 03:46:38

    I would like my denim back now. Thank you.

    Reply

  2. Ellen Bloom
    Feb 03, 2012 @ 00:46:22

    WOW! Eve! Your quilt is FANTASTIC! Nice work!

    Reply

  3. pandorra7
    Feb 03, 2012 @ 15:31:52

    Thank you Ellen!
    Good Luck Michele!
    🙂

    Reply

So what do you think? Leave a reply.

