Attack from Planet Red Heart

Since I haven’t had much time for any crafting experiments, here is my favorite 2011 project:

My neighbor Lisa is a school-teacher. Worthy profession, BUT they get like 200 days or so off each year. And instead of sitting at home feeling bad about how little vacation the rest of us have, Lisa is happily galavanting all over the country. Well – punishment was brewing just one floor up. She had it coming!

THE GREAT FAIRFAX YARN-BOMBING OF 2011

Many thanks to Jill, Amanda, Melody, Melissa, Leo, Sat Avtar, and Michele for a flawless execution of the grand plan.

And this was Lisa’s reaction:

        “So, I was away for almost two weeks exploring the state of Utah. After a long drive home, I look at my car that had been parked for the two weeks and notice a crocheted flower on the antena. I think…how cute, my neigbor left me a flower. Little did I know, something more grand was just around the corner. I came to my patio, dropped my luggage and laughed hard! My whole patio had been yarn bombed! Everything had yarn pieces on it. There were stars, flowers, confetti, you name it and it was there. Chairs, the door, the light, chimes, the railing, table, bushes, the watering container, plants, etc., were yarn bombed. I loved it! Thanks to all that were involved.

Now…who’s going to help me take this all down? :)”

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. V
    Mar 12, 2012 @ 12:43:03

    This is awesome!

    Yarn-tastic!

    Reply

  2. pandorra7
    Mar 12, 2012 @ 12:52:56

    It was so much fun!
    🙂

    Reply

  3. Ellen B.
    Mar 12, 2012 @ 15:36:41

    This was definitely the BEST yarny project of 2011!!

    Reply

  4. Lisa
    Mar 12, 2012 @ 16:03:14

    I was the victim of the yarn-bombing, and it was absolutely amazing! Just to set the record straight, I do not get 200 days off. 🙂

    Reply

  5. Truly Myrtle
    Mar 12, 2012 @ 23:20:18

    Take it down!!!! what does she mean, take it down!!! Leave it up!!!!

    Reply

  6. pandorra7
    Mar 13, 2012 @ 15:01:25

    She actually left it on for quite some time, which was nice. I guess she must have gotten bored on one of her 200 or so days off and took them down eventually.

    😀

    Reply

  7. Allison
    Mar 13, 2012 @ 17:36:34

    I’d love to come home to that! How fun!

    Reply

  8. Triona
    Mar 14, 2012 @ 14:35:34

    Ha! That’s fantastic! I’ve always shied away from the idea of yarn bombing something public, but I’d play a joke on a friend in a heartbeat. Thanks for the idea 🙂

    Reply

  9. pandorra7
    Mar 15, 2012 @ 17:36:43

    And it’s so much more fun if you get some other friends involved. Plus you’ll get an excuse to hang out…if you need one. LOL

    Reply

  10. BellaKarma
    Mar 15, 2012 @ 23:43:07

    Aw, another reason to love the Fairfax District: cool, crafty people (along with Canter’s Deli, of course!).

    Reply

So what do you think? Leave a reply.

